The George Gamow® Award

The George Gamow® Award, initiated in 2015 by RASA-America, serves as a tribute to scientists hailing from the USSR and Post-Soviet states. It stands as a living memorial to the exceptional Russian-American physicist and science communicator, Professor George Gamow (1904–1968). In keeping with Gamow’s spirit, this award celebrates not only remarkable scientific contributions but also endeavors in fostering international collaboration and the promotion of cultural exchange. Annually, the Gamow Award Committee bestows a minimum of two awards, comprising a diploma, a medal, and the invitation to deliver the Gamow lecture at the annual conference.


Andrei Zorin

Oxford University, United Kingdom

For his contribution to studying the formation of Russian culture and literature and the influence of state ideology upon them. Read More

Victor Chernozhukov

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

For his work on mathematical statistics and machine learning for causal structural models in high-dimensional environments.


Alexandra Zhernakova

University of Groningen, Netherlands

For the elucidation of the role the intestinal microbiome and viriome play in aging and disease development.  Read More 

Igor Alabugin

Florida State University, USA

For advancing stereoelectronic concepts of chemical reactivity leading to the discovery of new cyclization, cycloaddition, and cycloaromatization reactions as well as transformations of alkynes to carbon-rich materials. Read More


Vadim Gladyshev

Harvard university, USA

For research on selenium proteins and molecular mechanisms of aging, as well as for his contribution to the development of international scientific cooperation.

Mark Lipovetsky

Columbia University, USA

For original studies of contemporary Russian literature, in particular postmodernism, in a broad cultural context.


Mikhail Lukin

Harvard University, USA

For original developments in the field of quantum physics, including the quantum computer, and for his contribution to the organization of the Russian Quantum Center.

Yury Gogotsi

Drexel University, USA

For the discovery and synthesis of nanomaterials with a variable structure and many years of contribution to the development of international scientific cooperation.


Valery Fokin

University of Southern California, USA

For pioneering chemical research and the development of the efficient methods of the design of chemical compounds.

Vera Serganova

University of California, Berkeley, USA

For outstanding work on the representation theory of Lie superalgebras.


Eugene Koonin

National Center for Biotechnology Information, USA
Moscow State University, Russia

For fundamental contribution to the development of evolutionary biology.

Andre Linde

Stanford University, USA
Moscow State University, Russia

For the development of the inflationary model of the Universe.


Alexander Kabanov

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA
Moscow State University, Russia

For a series of works that initiated the use of polymeric nanomaterials for the delivery of drugs and nucleic acids into cells.

Artem Oganov

Skolkovo Institute of Science & Technology, Russia
University of New York at Stony Brook, USA

For contribution to the creation of methods for the theoretical design of new materials and prediction of the structure and properties of matter at high pressures, as well as for active participation in the development and development of the RASA Association.


Roald Sagdeev

University of Maryland, USA

Vladimir Shiltsev

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, USA


Vladmir Zelman

University of Southern California, USA

For his seminal contributions to neurology and neurological surgery and tireless efforts to promote best scientific practices in Russia.

Igor Efimov

George Washington University, USA

For his contributions to the biophysics of heart, cardiovascular engineering and imaging, and his role in establishment of RASA as its first President.